About Us

The Rocky River Public Library (RRPL), located in Rocky River, Ohio is an independent library and is not part of any larger library system. It is supported by the residents of Rocky River and by a portion of the General Fund of the State of Ohio. The Library’s taxing authority comes only through the Rocky River Board of Education. RRPL has a seven-member Board of Trustees, consisting of community members, which is the governing body authorized by the State of Ohio to establish policies and develop an annual budget.

Mission Statement

To cultivate meaningful connections by providing information, inspiration, and a welcoming place for contemplation and community.


Vision Statement

Leading and innovating through community-based services.

Rocky River Public Library is a  proud Member of CLEVNET! 

CLEVNET is a consortium of over 44 northern Ohio libraries, it is one of the largest library resource sharing networks in the United States. Rocky River Public Library is still an independent Library, joining the CLEVNET consortium enables Rocky River patrons to:

  • Search one catalog for over 12,000,000 books, movies, music, digital items, and more
  • Pickup and return items at any CLEVNET library – over 100 locations in 12 area counties

View additional information about CLEVNET

Library History

Library Timeline
Rocky River Public Library timeline covering historic milestones 1877 – present.

Library Artwork
This is an inventory of the collection of artworks at the Rocky River Public Library. The collection includes paintings donated from the estate of Leonard B. & Sophia Schlather, pieces from the Cowan Pottery Museum and a variety of modern works purchased by the library’s Women’s Committee. This inventory will be updated as needed.

Get a Library Card

Ohio residents are welcome to apply for a Library card here.

Employment

If you are Interested in working for the Rocky River Public Library check out our current job openings.

2020 Closing Dates

Wednesday, November 25
Thanksgiving Eve (Close at 6pm)

Thursday, November 26
Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, December 24
Christmas Eve

Friday December 25
Christmas Day

Thursday, December 31
New Year’s Eve

2021 Closing Dates

Friday, January 1
New Year’s Day

Sunday, April 4
Easter Sunday

Sunday, May 9
Mother’s Day

Sunday, May 30
Memorial Day (Sunday)

Monday, May 31
Memorial Day

Sunday, June 6
Last Sunday Open During the School Year

Sunday, July 4
Independence Day

Sunday, August 29
Resume Sunday Hours

Sunday, September 5
Labor Day (Sunday)

Monday, September 6
Labor Day

Monday, October 11
Staff Development Day

Wednesday, November 24
Thanksgiving Eve (Close at 6 pm)

Thursday, November 25
Thanksgiving Day

Friday, December 24
Christmas Eve

Saturday, December 25
Christmas Day

Friday, December 31
New Year’s Eve

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Rocky River Public Library, 1600 Hampton Road, Rocky River, OH, 44116, https://www.rrpl.org. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.